The awards CTAM hands out at its Summit each year are among the most respected honors in the industry. Take a look at the roster of names honored with the association’s Grand TAM Award—the list reads like a who’s who of cable for the past 25 years, from Ted Turner in 1980 to Brian Roberts this year. Similarly, the Chairman’s Award has recognized cable’s brightest since 1982, when Gail Sermersheim (then with HBO) and Andy Goldman (then with Spanish International Network) won the award. Rainbow’s Josh Sapan wins it this year. Some honors, such as the Hall of Fame, are kept secret. Others, like the ones listed on these two pages, are not. Here’s a look at who will be picking up hardware in Philadelphia during Summit. Grand TAM Award
Brian Roberts
Comcast Corp.
CTAM will give its highest honor to one of the cable industry’s true superstars in Roberts. The award will be handed out during Tuesday afternoon’s general session. CTAM is recognizing Roberts for his commitment to the industry through marketing, education and leadership. Of course, the fact that he heads up the industry’s biggest MSO (with more than 21.5 million subscribers) doesn’t hurt… Chairman’s Award
Josh Sapan
Rainbow Media Holdings
A Grand TAM winner in 2001, Sapan, one of cable’s true visionaries, again is being recognized. In 1996, Sapan was one of the founders of the CTAM Educational Foundation, which is best known for its Executive Management Program at Harvard Business School (aka CTAM U). Sapan chaired the foundation for five years, overseeing it as it helped prepare cable executives to compete against DBS and telcos. TAMI Awards CTAM has been giving out these awards since 1981 to recognize cable executives who contribute to CTAM’s success through volunteer efforts. This year’s winners are: Kim Cannon
Time Warner Cable
Cannon built awareness and prestige for the Mark Awards with her MSO colleagues. David S. Charmatz
SVP, research, analysis and strategy
Starz Entertainment Group
Charmatz was one of the leaders of CTAM’s research conference this year. Paul S. Lenburg
Media Frontiers
Lenburg developed the research study, "Evolving Use of Television and Its Content." Mark Tomizawa
SMASH Advertising
Tomizawa was instrumental in bringing the creative and agency community to CTAM. Adriana Waterston
director of marketing
Horowitz Associates
Waterston developed projects for CTAM’s Multicultural Marketing Committee. Rainmaker Awards Now in their second year, these awards recognize executives who help spur cable’s growth through corporate initiatives, from retail ventures to new product marketing. This year’s winners are: Suzanne Keenan
SVP, national customer service and Comcast University, Comcast Corp.
Keenan is the architect behind CTAM’s customer care initiatives. She helped develop CTAM’s forums on the subject. Arthur Orduna
VP, strategic initiatives
Advance/Newhouse Communications
Orduna sponsored projects to bridge the gap between marketing and technology. Thomas P. Southwick
SVP, corporate communications
Starz Entertainment Group
Southwick serves as a spokesman for the CTAM On Demand Consortium’s publicity campaign. Bill Stemper
Cox Business Services
Stemper helped create commercial services initiatives. He co-chaired CTAM’s 2004 and 2005 seminars on the subject. Joanne Wayne
senior director, media
Time Warner Cable
Wayne improved media planning procedures for cable companies as part of the Marketing Co-op Media Committee. Grand TAM Award winners 2005 Brian Roberts, chairman/CEO, Comcast Corp. 2004 Michael S. Willner, president/CEO, Insight 2003 Matthew C. Blank, chairman/CEO, Showtime 2002 John K. Billock, vice chairman/COO, Time Warner Cable 2001 Josh Sapan, president/CEO, Rainbow 2000 James O. Robbins, president/CEO, Cox 1999 Joe Collins, chairman/CEO, Time Warner Cable 1998 Kay Koplovitz, chairman/CEO, USA 1997 Robert Johnson, chairman/CEO, BET 1996 Decker Anstrom, president, NCTA 1995 John Hendricks, chairman/CEO, Discovery 1994 Geraldine Laybourne, vice chairman, MTV 1993 Amos Hostetter Jr., chairman/CEO, Continental 1992 Tom Freston, chairman/CEO, MTV 1991 Bob Alter, president/CEO, CAB 1990 John Goddard, CEO, Viacom 1989 Glenn Jones, president, Jones Intercable 1988 Brian Lamb, chairman/CEO, C-SPAN 1987 J. William Grimes, president/CEO, ESPN 1986 John Sie, SVP, TCI 1985 Trygve Myhren, chairman/CEO, ATC 1984 Charles F. Dolan, chairman/CEO, Cablevision 1983 Bill Daniels, Daniels & Associates 1982 Gerry Levin, Time Inc., HBO 1981 William J. Ryan, VP, Palmer Communications 1980 Ted Turner, chairman, Turner Broadcasting Chairman’s Award winners 2005 Josh Sapan, president/CEO, Rainbow Media Holdings 2004 Julian A. Brodsky, director/vice chairman, Comcast 2003 Dr. Richard R. Green, president/CEO, CableLabs 2001 John J. Sie, chairman/CEO, Starz 2000 James O’Brien 1999 Charles Ellis, EVP, Time Warner Cable 1997 John F. Gault, EVP, Time Warner Cable 1996
Ginny Overbagh, VP, marketing, Time Warner Cable Steve Raymond, VP, affiliate sales and marketing, ESPN 1995
Jeff DeLorme, EVP, Continental; Dennis Wilkinson, SVP, PrimeStar; George Bodeheimer, SVP, ESPN; Eric Brown, director, Century Southwest; Bruce Clark, president, Colony; Sharan Wilson Stover, SVP, TCI; Lynn Yaeger, SVP, On-Time Guarantee Advisory Group 1993 Joel A. Berger, publisher, MultiChannel News/Cablevision Magazine 1992 Ruth Otte, president/COO, Discovery 1991
Matthew Blank, president /COO, Showtime Lee Clayton, VP, Bortz and Co. 1990 Lowell Hussey, SVP, sales/marketing/programming, Warner Cable 1989
John Reardon, president, MTV Lowell Hussey, SVP, sales/marketing/programming, Warner Cable 1988 David Van Valkenburg 1987
Rod Thole, EVP, Heritage Communications John Reardon, EVP/GM, affiliate sales and marketing, MTV 1986 Ajit Dalvi, SVP, marketing and programming, Cox 1985 Char Beales, VP, programming and marketing, NCTA 1984 Douglas Wenger, Storer Cable 1983
Gail Sermersheim, VP/GM, HBO; Toni Augustine, president, Communication Trends;Ted Turner, Turner Broadcasting 1982
Gail Sermersheim, VP/GM, HBO Andy Goldman, EVP, Spanish International Network

The Daily


FTC Rejects Vertical Merger Guidelines

The FTC voted Wednesday to rescind the vertical merger guidelines it jointly issued in June 2020 with the DOJ .

Read the Full Issue
The Skinny is delivered on Tuesday and focuses on the cable profession. You'll stay in the know on the headlines, topics and special issues you value most. Sign Up


Sep 17
Most Powerful Women – 2021 Final Deadline: Sept 17, 2021
Dec 7
Most Powerful Women CelebrationSave the Date!
Full Calendar


Seeking an INDUSTRY JOB?

Hiring? In conjunction with our sister brand, Cynopsis, we are offering hiring managers a deep pool of media-savvy, skilled candidates at a range of experience levels and sectors, The result will be an even more robust industry job board, to help both employers and job seekers.

Contact for more information.