The SCTE has awarded its 2009 SCTE Member of the Year Award to Frank Eichenlaub of Cisco Systems. Eichenlaub received his award at the Annual Awards Luncheon at SCTE Cable-Tec Expo yesterday in Denver.

Accepting the honor, Eichenlaub said in 1987 he was encouraged to join the SCTE by Ron Hranac, a senior technical leader at Cisco, who back then had hired him to join Jones Intercable. Eichenlaub said he tries to follow Hranac’s example by recruiting young engineers to join.

"The SCTE has done so much for me," said Eichenlaub. "I try to find people who have what it takes to become our replacements in the future."

Eichenlaub was recognized for taking on many challenges during the last year, including chairing the SCTE Executive Search Committee. The committee in February filled the president/CEO vacancy with Mark Dzuban. In his third consecutive two-year term, Eichenlaub serves as SCTE region 2 director.

Other awards

David Broberg, VP of consumer video technology at CableLabs, won the SCTE Excellence in Standards Award. He has been with CableLabs since 1999 and holds four patents.

Broberg said he was "taking on 3DTV standards work right now."

In accepting her Women in Technology award, Barbara Jaffe, SVP of advanced technology and operations with HBO, said her background in sales at HBO has helped with her technology work.

"When I joined HBO in 1980, little did I imagine my career would lead me to the world of technology," Jaffe said. "As it turns out, getting to know the customer was a great steppingstone. Working on the technical side where things change so rapidly, nothing substitutes for understanding the customer."

In recognition of its 40th Anniversary, the SCTE honored its 20 inaugural SCTE emeritus members with the 2009 SCTE Chairman’s Award. The emeritus members had belonged to the SCTE since its inception in 1969.

Six of the emeritus members were in attendance at the luncheon: Ron Cotten, Ted Hartson, Bill Karnes, Rex Porter, Lewis Suders and Allen Williams.

The other 14 SCTE emeritus members are Richard Ashpole, Bob Bilodeau, Dean Cummings, William Elkins, Marvin Gill, Omer Griesemer, A.J. Henry, John Hollenback, Nick Olson, Eldon Palasek, Earl Quam, James Rowan, Samuel Shearer and Herb Timberlake.

Representing the emeritus group, Bill Karnes said: "We had a part in starting something that every man wants – to do something to change the world. I think we were able to do a little bit in that direction. But we’re humbled for the opportunity and chance to do that."

The System of the Year Award went to Comcast Oregon and Southwest Washington. CT has the full story in its November issue.

– Linda Hardesty

The Daily


Virginia DHCD Kicks Off Broadband Survey Effort

The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development launched a statewide Digital Opportunity Survey Thursday. The goal of the survey is for the state to better understand

Read the Full Issue
The Skinny is delivered on Tuesday and focuses on the cable profession. You'll stay in the know on the headlines, topics and special issues you value most. Sign Up


Aug 18
Most Powerful Women – 2023Deadline: Aug. 11; Final Deadline: Aug. 18
Full Calendar


Seeking an INDUSTRY JOB?

Hiring? In conjunction with our sister brand, Cynopsis, we are offering hiring managers a deep pool of media-savvy, skilled candidates at a range of experience levels and sectors, The result will be an even more robust industry job board, to help both employers and job seekers.

Contact [email protected] for more information.