Ten North American cities made the Smart21 Intelligent Communities of 2012 list, compiled and released by the Intelligent Community Forum.??

Each year, the ICF defines a theme that guides the nominations for the Intelligent Community of the Year. The 2012 theme is “Intelligent Communities – Platforms for Innovation.” Innovation is one of ICF’s five permanent indicators used to judge communities seeking award status. However the special theme focuses on how Intelligent Communities create "uniquely powerful innovation ecosystems on a foundation of information and communications technology," the group explains.??In addition to the 10 honorees from North America, there are 4 communities from Europe, 3 from Latin America and 4 from Asia. More than half are on the list for the first time. The list follows:

  • Arlington County, Va.
  • Austin, Texas
  • Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
  • Columbus Region, Ohio
  • Curitiba, Paraná, Brazil
  • Dakota County, Minn.
  • Danville, Va.
  • Durango, Mexico
  • Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
  • Heraklion, Crete, Greece
  • Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
  • New Taipei City, Taiwan
  • Oulu, Finland
  • Prospect, South Australia, Australia
  • Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
  • Riverside, Calif.
  • Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
  • Stratford, Ontario, Canada
  • Taichung City, Taiwan
  • Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, Mexico
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Commented ICF Co-Founder Louis Zacharilla, “The Smart21 of 2012 are a diverse group which represent the degree to which the intelligent community movement has spread. I am particularly pleased that Mexico and Finland, two very diverse cultures, are represented for the first time. We can also see how perennial communities in the USA, Canada and Taiwan continue to create communities for the 21st Century based on innovation and how communities that few have heard of before have become great places to live.”??

The Smart21 announcement is the first stage of ICF’s annual Intelligent Community Awards cycle.  Coming up are the Top Seven Intelligent Communities of the Year, selected from among the 21. The Top Seven announcement will be made Jan. 15, 2012, at the annual Pacific Telecommunications Council conference in Honolulu. The cycle concludes in New York City on June 8, 2012, during ICF’s annual “Building the Broadband Economy Summit,” where one of the Top Seven will succeed The Eindhoven Region as “Intelligent Community of the Year 2012.”??

The Daily


NBCU, Disney Upfronts Results

NBCUniversal CEO Jeff Shell also discussed this year’s upfronts during his investor conference appearance Monday, saying that his company’s upfront has officially been completed and it may have been the

Read the Full Issue
The Skinny is delivered on Tuesday and focuses on the cable profession. You'll stay in the know on the headlines, topics and special issues you value most. Sign Up


Jul 16
Diversity List – 2021 Nominations Due: July 16, 2021
Sep 10
Most Powerful Women – 2021 Nominations Due: Sept 10, 2021
Dec 7
Most Powerful Women CelebrationSave the Date!
Full Calendar


Seeking an INDUSTRY JOB?

Hiring? In conjunction with our sister brand, Cynopsis, we are offering hiring managers a deep pool of media-savvy, skilled candidates at a range of experience levels and sectors, The result will be an even more robust industry job board, to help both employers and job seekers.

Contact John@cynopsis.com for more information.