The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE) has announced the recipients of its Chapter Awards for 2009, which were presented at a 2010 SCTE Chapter Leadership Conference in St. Louis.

The Great Lakes Chapter (serving southeastern Michigan) achieved the distinction of SCTE Chapter of the Year, and Markus Kofoid of the Alaska Chapter was honored as SCTE Chapter Member of the Year.

A second recipient of the SCTE Chapter Member of the Year Award for 2009 has been determined, but because the individual was unable to attend this year’s CLC, the announcement of that second recipient will follow at a later date.

SCTE, which has 68 chapters and meeting groups, also presented awards for second through seventh place in the SCTE Chapter of the Year category. Those honorees were the Hill Country Chapter (south-central Texas) (2nd), the Golden Gate Chapter (northern California) (3rd), the Cactus Chapter (Arizona) (4th), the Red Rock Chapter (Nevada) (5th), the Lighthouse Chapter (Maine) (6th), and the New England Chapter (7th).

SCTE presented its Most Improved Chapter of the Year Award as well. The Desert Chapter (Southern California) garnered that distinction.

SCTE also presented Chapter Achievement Certificates for the second time. Two chapters were honored with this award: the Rocky Mountain Chapter (Colorado) and the West Virginia Mountaineer Chapter.

The SCTE Compliance Award recipient was the Golden Gate Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Compliance) was the Central Florida Chapter.

The SCTE Professional Development Award recipient was the Hill Country Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Professional Development) was also the Hill Country Chapter.

The SCTE Recruitment Award recipient was the New England Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Recruitment) was the Sooner State Chapter (Oklahoma).

The SCTE Striving for Excellence Award recipient was the Cactus Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Striving for Excellence) was the Louisiana Chapter.

The Compliance, Professional Development, Recruitment, and Striving for Excellence awards are each earned based on an objective points system for each award. Combining the points earned for those four award categories determines the Chapter of the Year Award recipients.

The Chapter Member of the Year Award is determined by a traditional nomination process.

The Daily


Sinclair Snags NHL Deal

With Sinclair on a mission to shore up a DTC streaming service, the company said it has reached a multi-year renewal with the NHL that includes the right for Bally Sports RSNs to stream live games on an

Read the Full Issue
The Skinny is delivered on Tuesday and focuses on the cable profession. You'll stay in the know on the headlines, topics and special issues you value most. Sign Up


Dec 7
Most Powerful Women Celebration Register to Join Us in NYC to Celebrate!
Full Calendar


Seeking an INDUSTRY JOB?

Hiring? In conjunction with our sister brand, Cynopsis, we are offering hiring managers a deep pool of media-savvy, skilled candidates at a range of experience levels and sectors, The result will be an even more robust industry job board, to help both employers and job seekers.

Contact for more information.