Former Verizon president/COO Dennis F. (Denny) Strigl and former DDi Corp. president/CEO Mikel H. Williams joined the Tellabs board, bringing the number of directors to 11. Williams will be a Class III director, up for re-election at the 2013 Annual Stockholders Meeting, while Strigl will be a Class II director up for re-election at the same event…Mike Stefanski, currently serving as senior vice president/treasurer at Verizon Communications Inc., will move up to senior vice president/Investor Relations, effective Jan. 1, 2013…The GSMA elected members to its board for the two-year period from January 2013 through December 2014: Alejandro Magana Perez, America Movil; William Hague, AT&T Group; Jamaludin Ibrahim, Axiata Group Berhad; Sanjay Kapoor, Bharti Airtel Ltd.; Sha Yuejia, China Mobile; Lu Yimin, China Unicom; Wolfgang Kopf, Deutsche Telekom; Ahmad Abdulkarim Julfar, Etisalat; Jean-Paul Cottet, France Telecom-Orange; Tadashi Onodera, KDDI Corporation; Dr. Suk-Chae Lee, KT Corporation; Sifiso Dabengwa, MTN; Kaoru Kato, NTT DoCoMo; Dr. Nasser Marafih, Qtel Group; Sung Min Ha, SK Telecom; Srinath Narasimhan, Tata Teleservices; Julio Linares Lopez, Telefonica; Lars Nyberg, TeliaSonera; David Thodey, Telstra; Hakam Kanafani, Turk Telekom; Anthony Melone, Verizon Communications; Jo Lunder, VimpelCom Ltd.; and Nick Read, Vodafone. The association also re-elected Franco Bernabe, chairman/CEO at Telecom Italia Group, as chairman; and Jon Fredrik Baksaas, president/CEO at Telenor Group, as deputy chair for second terms in these roles.

The Daily


Rosenworcel Named Acting FCC Chair

As expected, President Biden named Democratic commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel as acting chairwoman of the FCC.

Read the Full Issue
The Skinny is delivered on Tuesday and focuses on the cable profession. You'll stay in the know on the headlines, topics and special issues you value most. Sign Up