Matthew Blank of Showtime Networks and Anne Sweeney of Disney Media Networks and Disney-ABC Television Group are the 2008 recipients of the NCTA’s Vanguard Award for "Distinguished Leadership." Sweeney and Blank top the list of nine Vanguard Award winners who will be recognized for their outstanding contributions to the cable industry. The 2008 Vanguard Awards will be presented during The Cable Show ’08 in New Orleans.

Other honorees include:

Young Leadership – Bret Perkins, Comcast

Programmers – Kenneth W. Lowe, The E.W. Scripps Company

Science & Technology – Paul G. Allen, Charter Communications and Vulcan Inc.

Cable Operations Management – Steven Brookstein, Bresnan Communications

Government & Community Relations – Carol A. Melton, Time Warner

Marketing – Sam Howe, Time Warner Cable

Associates & Affiliates – Michael Pohl, C-COR

The Daily


Allen on Weather Channel Plus Launch

Allen Media Group founder Byron Allen is putting everything that he has learned into the development and launch of his latest venture, Weather Channel Plus.

Read the Full Issue
The Skinny is delivered on Tuesday and focuses on the cable profession. You'll stay in the know on the headlines, topics and special issues you value most. Sign Up


Sep 10
Most Powerful Women – 2021 Nominations Due: Sept 10, 2021
Dec 7
Most Powerful Women CelebrationSave the Date!
Full Calendar


Seeking an INDUSTRY JOB?

Hiring? In conjunction with our sister brand, Cynopsis, we are offering hiring managers a deep pool of media-savvy, skilled candidates at a range of experience levels and sectors, The result will be an even more robust industry job board, to help both employers and job seekers.

Contact for more information.